Nature Lodge

The restaurant
Warm atmosphere
Bungalows in the garden
View to the bay
The bedroom
The reception
Sofa in the "paillote"
Gecko and frangipani flower

Request information or make a reservation

Nature Lodge Joffreville – Diego Suarez – Booking at (+261 0) 34 20 123 06

Nature Lodge

“Experience the evocative sounds…scent…and taste of Madagascar….at their very best!”

North of Madagascar, 30km from Diego Suarez and 7km from the Amber Mountain National Park

Our small and exclusive eco-loge at the doorstep of the Amber Mountain National Park and in a lush forest of mangoes and litchi trees guarantees an ultimate peace and tranquility.

The spacious and charming thatched chalets offer an endless panoramic view on either the lush green rain forest home of many lemurs or on one of the most beautiful bays in the world: Diego Suarez’s Bay.

The main area and the large wooden deck open on a magnificent garden, home of many chameleons and open on a breathtaking view of both the Mozambique Channel and the Indian Ocean.

The chalet

Rest to the sound of mother nature! The Lodge offers 12 identical and spacious 35m2 thatched chalets built in timber and local material. Each chalet is individually decorated with warm Malagasy colours and is equipped with an en-suite bathroom, a double and a single bed as well as a private wooden deck. Each unit accommodates up to 3 guests.

The bar

Where stories are either shared or made! Our cosy and fully licensed bar offers from the classics to our house specialties. Want to be adventurous? Forget about the Baileys and all the classics and go for the home specialties: rhum arrangé (flavoured rhum-even the Gecko likes it) or if you really want that Baileys, ask for our home made one!

The restaurant

The heart of the Lodge! Warm colours, rosewood furnishing, French doors, exquisite meals… The Lodge offers indoor and outdoor dining experience. The cuisine is rather simple, hearty and seasonal. You will be offered various delectable meals from fresh and seasonal products from either our own vegetable garden, our local market or just out of the sea.

The Team

The veins, the family and the energy of Nature Lodge! 15 local team members lead by Jean-Noel and Saholy from Tanà. All team members are professionally trained and can provide first-aid as well as practice eco-friendly habits for a sustainable environment. The team is totally at your disposal during your stay to make your experience a memorable one!

The Terrace & The Lodge

To be shared with the Gecko’s! Want to laze around? Read a book ? Play games ? Apart from its large wooden terrace where one can enjoy a meal or some refreshments, Nature Lodge has indoor and outdoor cosy lounges with books in different languages as well as games available during your stay.


Environmentally friendly

Nature Lodge has always promoted environmentally friendly practice by minimizing or suppressing the negative impact its activity may create on the environment. We are also proud to announce that we have recently gone GREEN!

The ecolodge


Hôtel / restaurant

12 bungalows

Raised garden

Bay view

Solar energy

Solar hot water

Vegetable garden

Waste management

Training in eco-actions

Perfectly located

Nosy Be to half day drive

Tsingy of Ankarana : 100 km

20 min from the park entrance

500m above sea level

Diego Suarez : 30 km


The restaurant



Simple and innovative cuisine in a unique and warm setting

Indoor or outdoor, we will host you Malagasy style.


2016 Rates


Double bungalows

80 € per bungalow

The bungalows are composed of a large double bed.

Additional bed

10 €

Ability to add 1 or 2 extra beds by bungalow.


5 € / person

Hot drinks, juice, bread, pastries, yogurt, fruit.

Lunch or dinner

12 € / person

A starter, main course and dessert.

Children’s menu

10 € / person

Under 12 years.


10 € / person

We prepare a nice picnic basket

Airport transfer

60 € per vehicle

From 1 to 4 people for: Airport => Hotel OR Hotel => Airport|Diégo

Car rental

Consult us

Variable depending on the destination and duration.


Spacious, being able to welcome 1 or 2 additional beds, the rooms of our bungalow are ideal for couples or families of 3 to 4 people. Toilets are clearly separated so that the comfort of each is preserved.


A cosy atmosphere under the mosquito net, the peace of the night in the mountain. Note that bungalows are spaced out enough from each other to offer a complete intimacy.

Private terrace

All our bungalows have a private terrace with views on the Bay of Diego or the Amber Mountain forest. Two small Zafimaniry wooden seats with ideal slope are there for a short break.

Relaxing area

The latest issues of National Geographic and books of photos on Madagascar are at your disposal. Some games also and small novels.

Remain connected

Nature Lodge allows you of remained connected. The Wi-Fi access is via the 3G mobile network and allows to consult and to send e-mails, but insufficient to surf on the Internet. The Wi-Fi is available within the restaurant.


Three guards and their dogs watch over our sleep. They are employed by the company MGS (Madagascar Guarding Services) and make rounds on the property from 6 pm till 6 am.

The reception of the lodge is equipped with a terminal VISA CARD for your payments on the spot.


Amber Mountain National Park



An amazing fauna and lush vegetation for some fascinating discoveries


Discover the region


The Northern region is one of the richest and of the most beautiful of Madagascar.

Diverse, colourful, lively, an open invitation to discoveries.
Varied, alive and colored, an invitation to the discovery.
Turquoise seas, pristine beaches, lush forests, mighty mountains, beautiful archipelagos, heaven like bays, unusual Tsingy and warm smiles.


Hidden at the end of this big bay, Diego Suarez is a special city. There is a particular atmosphere, due to various population who live there. You have to discover it in its mildness of the morning or at the end of afternoon. Its Arabian-like side, its colonial architecture, its dancing music, its colourful “lamba” deserve that one spends couple of hours enjoying its nonchalant atmosphere.

The 3 bay

Either the « Baie des Dunes », the « Baie des Pigeons » or the « Baie des Sakalava », the hiking along the 3 bays is an invite to discover the seashore sceneries, wonderful and diversified. It is just a succession of white sand beaches opening onto the crystalline waters of the Indian Ocean. A heaven for swimming and relaxing that you can explore on foot or by car.

The Emerald Sea

Did you already sail on a mirror or dive into an aquarium? The Emerald Sea is just amazing. After a boat ride, like a jewel, the site is nicely revealing itself . We feel like at the end of the world in this wide lagoon of corals, where turquoise waters shelter numerous bunches of corals which attract an extraordinary submarine fauna. It is the perfect place to snorkel and sunbathes.

The Red Tsingy

The Red Tsingy are located in the south of Diego, not an ordinary site! The geological history of this formation is the same as for the Tsingy of Ankarana, with only a few thousand years of difference. Those of Ankarana are limestones, and the Red Tsingy consist of marl and sandstones.


The main attraction of Ankarana is its Tsingys: those sharp rocks eroded by water, wind and time, its deep canyons and ground waters. 10 species of lemurs live there, as well as crocodiles, 92 species of birds of which 54 are endemic to Madagascar, such as the Messire Varié, one of the rarest bird in the world!

Nosy Be

The sand there is white, the water is turquoise, the coconut trees are numerous and the atmosphere is nonchalant. But it is not only Nosy Be… Its surrounding islands ( Komba, Tanikely, Sakatia ) or the more distant ones ( the Mitsio, the Radama, Iranja ), all of them also offer wonderful beauties to discover from above the water…

Environmentally friendly


Water management

We collect water in a deep small valley located next to the lodge. This water is precious and scarce especially at the end of the dry season.

That’s why the team is getting aware of each liter of consumed water. It is also able to identify water leaks that will be fixed by our technical team as quickly as possible. We collect rainwater in order to clean huge equipments such as cars. The minimum of water is used to water our park. Our kitchen garden is irrigated during the coolest hours of the day.

The buildings and the park

The field on which has been built the lodge is a former pastureland. We have imagined houses on stilts to not modify the natural topography and avoid erosion issues.

All our buildings are made with local materials and are complying with a “discreet” architecture that gets along with the Montagne d’Ambre’s landscapes. We have reforested and arranged the park with as most as possible of local species. What a pleasure to see our trees growing year after year! During its building phase, the Nature Lodge has been identified to be a pilot site in the implementation of Environmental Impacts Studies. These studies are now deployed in the whole country by the National Environmental Office.

Solar energy

In 2016 the Nature Lodge invested in solar energy: 30 PV panels, 24 professional batteries and 5 water heaters.

The lighting system, the cooking electrical equipments such as fridges and freezers are all operated with solar energy.
100% of our light bulbs have been replaced by LED and we do our best to not use our emergency generator. As we are located in a remote area where the energy accessibility and above all the energy storage are hard, we are used to be conscious of any possible savings. We know how to limit our equipments to the strict minimum without diminishing the comfort and security. Furthermore we reduce our cooking gas consumption by using alternative ways of cooking as an improved fatapera – the local cooking system – that uses sawdust. Our team is getting aware of the deforestation issue and the unfortunately well-known charcoal processing.

The composting process

To reduce our carbon emissions due to transportation and to offer fresh products to our clients and in the team’s meals, we grow our own kitchen garden just beside our kitchen.

Aromatic herbs, zucchini, salads, tomatoes, green beans, sweet potatoes… all these vegetables are cooked by our Chef in his daily meals and menus. We have launched a composting process of our biodegradable wastes. It is a hard way but we keep going and hope to succeed in gardening in an ecological manner. We would like to be an example for the Joffreville’s inhabitants to whom the illegal but profitable khat production – the local drug – has replaced the food-producing agriculture. This sad process came along with social troubles.

The struggle against soil pollution

To preserve the wellness of the field on which is built the lodge, each sump of waste water and each septic tank are equipped with…

…filtering materials and plants, such as vetiver. We are looking for reducing our use of chemical products. For instance we use “beehive” styled bath towels that let us save water and washing powder during the cleaning work. We are always looking for implementing ecological practices in our kitchen garden.

We sort our dangerous waste: for instance we suggest our clients to bring back the Lodge’s used batteries to put them in the appropriate retreatment place. We raise awareness among our team to protect the soil each time they do “durty” works such as car oil changes and painting works.

The staff enhancement

All our staff is Malagasy and most of them come from the Joffreville village. This team is loyal for years. We focus on their well-being through a higher salary, promotion opportunities or other benefits such as bonus.

We have created a mutual fund to be able to help a co-worker in need but also to celebrate happier events as weddings or births.
Regular trainings are organized to enable career advancement: first aid, languages, agriculture, cooking our eco-gests. Above that we are equally concerned by the drivers and tourist guides housing conditions. We always make sure that they are welcome in the Nature Lodge as home.

Locate the hotel and nearby attractions


We work with

Nature Lodge

Le restaurant
La salle et son ambiance cosy
Les bungalows dans le jardin
Vue sur la Baie de Diego
La chambre
La réception
Les salons de la paillote
Gecko et frangipanier

Demandez des informations ou faites une réservation

Nature Lodge Joffreville – Diégo Suarez – réservation au (+261 0) 34 49 123 06

Nature Lodge

Au Nord de Madagascar à 30 km de Diego Suarez et à 7 km du Parc National de la Montagne d’Ambre

Une étape agréable dans un havre de fraîcheur à Joffreville.
Aux portes du Parc de la Montagne d’Ambre, des bungalows de charme vous accueillent dans un vaste jardin arboré et fleuri offrant une superbe vue panoramique sur la baie de Diego, le Canal du Mozambique et l’Océan Indien.

Les bungalows

NATURE LODGE est composé de 12 bungalows en bois et matériaux locaux avec terrasse privative, vue sur la baie ou la montagne. Le bungalow de 35 m² est équipé d’un lit double et simple et d’une salle de bain équipée. Chacun peut accueillir jusqu’à 3 personnes.

Le bar

Pour échanger sur votre journée et préparer celle de demain, devant un rhum litchi ou un punch coco. Ambiance chaude et conviviale au comptoir ou sur les canapés. Deux salons accueillants sont également à disposition en terrasse.

Le restaurant

Mobilier en palissandre, charpente en bois rond, larges baies vitrées ouvrant sur une belle terrasse. Une cuisine simple et originale à base de viande, de poisson et de fruits de mer accompagnés des produits frais du marché et de notre potager.

L’équipe

Composé d’une quinzaine de personnes venant de Joffreville et de Diego Suarez, elle est dirigée par Jean Noël et Saholy venant des Hautes-Terres. L’équipe a reçu des formations en cuisine, en secourisme, en éco-gestes. Elle est à votre service pour un séjour des plus agréables chez Nature Lodge.

La terrasse

Grande, largement ouverte vers le Nord. Vue sur la Baie de Diego, l’Océan Indien et le Canal du Mozambique. Site privilégié pour le petit déjeuner, l’apéritif et les repas. Une jolie paillote sur le côté offre un cadre reposant avec ses canapés.

Ecolo

Eco responsable

Nature Lodge s’est engagé dans une démarche éco-responsable en favorisant l’économie locale. Nous sommes allés plus loin dans notre démarche en devenant énergétiquement indépendant en 2016.

L'écolodge

Hôtel / restaurant

12 bungalows

Wifi

Jardin arboré

Vue sur la Baie

Energie solaire

Eau chaude solaire

Jardin potager

Gestion des déchets

Formation aux éco-gestes

Parfaitement situé

A 20 mn de l’entrée du Parc

A 500 m d’altitude pour la fraîcheur

Diego Suarez à 30 km

Nosy Be à ½ journée de route

Tsingy de l’Ankarana : 100 km

TA1

Se restaurer

sep

 

Un cadre chaleureux, une cuisine originale…

Un cadre chaleureux et des produits sains pour une cuisine originale et inventive.
En salle ou en terrasse, nos serveuses vous réservent un accueil tout « malgache ».


 

Tarifs 2016

sep

Bungalows doubles

80 € le bungalow

Les bungalows se composent d’un grand lit double.

Lit supplémentaire

10 €

Possibilité d’ajouter 1 ou 2 lits supp. par bungalow.

Petit déjeuner

5 € / personne

Boissons chaudes, jus, pain, viennoiserie, yaourt, fruits.

Déjeuner ou dîner

12 € / personne

Une entrée, un plat de résistance et un dessert.

Menu enfant

10 € / personne

Moins de 12 ans.

Pique-nique

10 € / personne

Nous vous préparons un joli panier pique-nique

Transfert Aéroport

60 € par véhicule

1 à 4 personnes pour aller ou retour aéroport ou Diego

Location de voiture

Nous consulter

Variable selon la destination et la durée.

Les bungalows

Spacieuses, pouvant accueillir 1 ou 2 lits supplémentaires, les chambres de nos bungalows sont idéales pour des couples ou familles de 3 ou 4 personnes. Les sanitaires sont évidemment séparés pour que le confort de chacun soit préservé.

Intimité

Une ambiance cosy sous la moustiquaire, le calme de la nuit dans la montagne. Notez que les bungalows sont suffisamment espacés les uns des autres pour offrir une complète intimité.

Terrasse privée

Tous nos bungalows disposent d’une terrasse privative offrant une vue sur la baie de Diégo ou sur la forêt de la Montagne d’Ambre. Deux petits sièges à palabres Zafimaniry à l’inclinaison idéale pour un petit break.

Espace détente

Les derniers numéros du National Géographique et des livres de photos sur Madagascar sont à votre disposition. Quelques jeux également, et des petits romans.

Restez connecté

Nature Lodge vous permet de rester connecté. L’accès wifi se fait par le réseau mobile 3G et permet de consulter et envoyer des mails, mais insuffisant pour surfer sur internet. Le wifi est disponible dans l’enceinte du restaurant.

Sécurité

Trois personnes et leurs chiens veillent sur votre sommeil. Ils sont employés de la société MGS (Madagascar Gardiennage Services) et font des rondes sur la propriété de 18h à 6h.

La réception du lodge est équipée d’un teminal CARTE VISA pour vos paiements sur place.

visa

Parc national de la Montagne d’Ambre

sep

 

Une faune étonnante et une végétation luxuriante pour des découvertes passionnantes

Des sentiers bien aménagés permettent de visiter le parc sans peine.
Lémuriens, caméléons, oiseaux, ficus, fougères arborescentes, orchidées…

 

Découvrez la région

sep

La région Nord est l’une des plus riches et des plus belles de Madagascar.


Variée, vivante et colorée, une invitation à la découverte.
La mer, les plages, des parcs et montagnes, de la faune et de la flore, des îles et des baies.


Diégo

Caché au fond de cette grande Baie, Diego Suarez est une ville à part. Il y règne une ambiance très particulière, due aux différentes communautés qui la peuplent. Il faut la découvrir dans la douceur du matin ou de la fin d’après-midi. Son côté arabisant, son architecture coloniale, sa musique dansante, ses « lamba » colorés méritent que l’on passe quelques heures à goûter son atmosphère nonchalante.

Les 3 baies

Que ce soit la Baie des Dunes, des Pigeons ou des Sakalava, la randonnée le long des 3 baies est une invitation à la découverte de paysages de bord de mer, merveilleux et diversifiés. Ce n’est qu’une succession de plages au sable blanc s’ouvrant sur les eaux cristallines de l’Océan Indien. Un paradis pour la baignade et la détente que vous pourrez explorer à pied ou en voiture.

Mer d'Emeraude

Avez-vous déjà navigué sur un miroir ou plongé dans un aquarium ? La Mer d’Emeraude est tout simplement incroyable. Tel un joyau, le lieu se dévoile délicatement après une traversée en bateau et l’on se croit au bout du monde dans ce vaste lagon corallien, où les eaux turquoise abritent de nombreux bouquets de corail qui attirent une faune sous-marine exceptionnelle. C’est l’endroit idéal pour pratiquer le snorkeling et les bains de soleil !

Tsingy Rouges

Au sud de Diego Suarez se trouve les Tsingy Rouges, un site pas banal ! L’histoire géologique de cette formation est la même que celle des Tsingy de l’Ankarana, mais avec quelques milliers d’années de différence. Ceux de l’Ankarana sont en calcaire, ceux-ci sont composés de grès et de marne.

L'Ankarana

L’attraction principale de l’Ankarana, ce sont ses Tsingy, ces arêtes rocheuses travaillées par l’eau, le vent et le temps, ses canyons profonds et ses rivières souterraines. On y trouve là 10 espèces de lémuriens, tout comme des crocodiles et 92 espèces d’oiseaux dont 54 sont endémiques à Madagascar, tel que Le Messire Varié, l’un des oiseaux des plus rares du monde!

Nosy Be

Le sable y est blanc, l’eau turquoise, les cocotiers nombreux et l’ambiance nonchalante. Mais il n’y a pas que Nosy be… Ses îles environnantes (Komba, Tanikely, Sakatia) ou plus lointaines (les Mitsio, les Radama, Iranja) offrent également de merveilleuses beautés à découvrir au fil de l’eau …

Eco responsable

sep

La gestion de l’eau

Nous allons puiser l’eau dans un profond vallon situé à côté du lodge. Cette eau est précieuse et se fait même rare en fin de saison sèche. C’est la raison pour laquelle l’équipe est sensibilisée à…

… la bonne utilisation de chaque litre d’eau et est attentive à la moindre fuite qui sera traitée le plus rapidement possible par nos techniciens. Nous récupérons l’eau de pluie pour le gros nettoyage comme le lavage des voitures. Nous limitons au minimum l’arrosage de notre parc et celui de notre potager se fait aux heures les moins chaudes de la journée.

Les bâtiments et le parc

Le terrain sur lequel a été installé le lodge est un ancien pâturage. Nous avons imaginé des constructions sur pilotis pour ne pas avoir à en modifier le dénivelé naturel et le préserver de tous risques d’érosion.

Tous nos bâtiments ont été construits en matériaux locaux et en respectant une architecture discrète pour s’intégrer le mieux possible aux paysages de la Montagne d’Ambre. Nous avons reboisé et aménagé le parc avec un maximum d’espèces locales. C’est un plaisir de voir nos arbres grandir année après année. A sa construction, Nature Lodge a été choisi pour être un site pilote dans le déploiement des Etudes d’Impact Environnemental, aujourd’hui étendues à l’ensemble de Madagascar par l’Office National de l’Environnement.

L’énergie solaire

En 2016, Nature Lodge s’est équipé en énergie solaire : 30 panneaux photovoltaïques, 24 batteries professionnelles et 5 chauffe-eaux. L’ensemble des éclairages, les équipements électriques…

…de la cuisine et du restaurant et notamment les réfrigérateurs et les congélateurs fonctionnent tous au solaire. 100% de nos ampoules ont été remplacées par des LED et nous faisons notre possible pour ne pas avoir recours au groupe électrogène de secours. Situés dans une zone reculée où l’accès et surtout le stockage de l’énergie est difficile, nous sommes depuis toujours extrêmement conscients des économies réalisables et, sans sacrifier au confort et à la sécurité, nous savons réduire nos équipements électriques au strict nécessaire. Par ailleurs, nous limitons également la consommation de gaz pour la cuisson des aliments en utilisant des méthodes alternatives comme l’usage d’un fatapera – le système de cuisson local – amélioré à la sciure de bois. Notre personnel est sensibilisé au problème de déboisement et de charbonnage que connaît notre île.

Le potager et le compostage

Pour limiter nos allers et venues à Diego Suarez et pour pouvoir proposer des produits frais aussi bien à nos clients que pour les repas de notre personnel, nous cultivons un potager juste à côté de nos cuisines.

Plantes aromatiques, courgettes, salades, tomates, haricots verts, patates douces… que notre Chef propose dans ses plats et menus du jour. Non sans difficulté, nous nous sommes lancés dans l’expérience du compostage de nos déchets biodégradables, pour réussir à aller vers un jardinage raisonné de notre potager. Nous espérons aussi servir d’exemple aux Joffrevillois pour lesquels la culture illégale mais lucrative du khat – la drogue locale – a remplacé les cultures vivrières, s’accompagnant des perturbations sociales attendues dans ce genre de situation.

La lutte contre la pollution du sol

Pour préserver la bonne santé du terrain sur lequel est posé le lodge, chaque puisard d’eau usée et chaque fosse septique sont équipés de matériaux et de plantes filtrantes, comme le vétiver.

Nous cherchons à limiter notre usage de produits chimiques. Nous utilisons par exemple des serviettes de toilette en nid d’abeille qui nécessitent moins d’eau et moins de lessive au lavage. Nous sommes aussi toujours à la méthode de jardinage raisonné pour notre potager. Nous collectons à part nos déchets dangereux : par exemple, nous invitons nos clients à ramener avec eux les piles usagées consommées au lodge pour les déposer dans des lieux de traitement adaptés. Notre équipe est sensibilisée à protéger le sol à chacun de ses travaux comme les vidanges et les travaux de peinture.

La valorisation du personnel

Notre équipe est entièrement Malagasy et la majorité vient du village de Joffreville. Equipe fidèle et stable depuis des années, nous mettons une importance toute particulière à leur bien-être à travers

…une rémunération valorisante, la possibilité de promotion ou encore d’autres avantages comme les primes. Nous avons créé une caisse d’entraide pour pouvoir aider un collaborateur qui serait particulièrement dans le besoin mais aussi pour célébrer des événements plus heureux comme des mariages ou des naissances. Des formations ont régulièrement lieu pour leur permettre des évolutions de carrière : premiers secours, langues, agriculture, cuisine ou encore éco-gestes. Au-delà de notre équipe, nous sommes également sensibles à ce que les chauffeurs et les guides qui accompagnent nos clients soient toujours bien logés et accueillis comme chez eux au Nature Lodge.

Localiser l’hôtel et les sites touristiques à proximité

sep

Nous travaillons avec

petit-fute

routard

lonely-planet

guide-evasion

fhorm

national-parks

beautiful-bay

diego-office-tourisme